Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: How Loud Is Your Generator?

Posted By: higherroad on 05/01/12 03:58pm

My '92 Roadtrek has a Onan Microlite generator. It works fine, starts up well and runs the ac and microwave well. But, it's loud! And, being right under the bed shakes the bedding area. This is my first generator and I'm just learning about them. Is this amount of noise to be expected from an old generator or is there some tuning or maintenance that can be done to quiet it down a bit?

Posted By: retraite on 05/01/12 04:09pm

IMHO, there are a couple of things you can do.

First, add an Onan resonator "inline" to the genset exhaust. It's a cut and weld proposition, but fairly easy for a welding or muffler shop to do.

Second, make a small modification to the way the genset exhaust pipe is attached to the body. Remove the rubber mounting joint and replace it with a spring.

Both MyRoadtrek and Handbasket have posted on each of these points regularly and will likely chime in. Or, you can search earlier postings for their photos.

I've done both - thanks to them - and it DOES make a difference.

Cheers.

Posted By: Handbasket on 05/01/12 04:36pm

Assuming it's an Onan Microlite 2800.... On one that age, I'd suggest dropping it and removing the top green part of the box. There's a muffler inside the box (passenger's side), and that's the only way to inspect it & the piping leading to and from it.

This old post of mine http://www.rv.net/forums/index.cfm/fuseaction/thread/tid/25841618.cfm shows it with the top off; 1st photo is from the service access door side, and the muffler is on the right with a pipe leading to it from the cylinder head. Be sure all that stuff is intact.