Motorhome Magazine Open Roads Forum: Towing with a Winnebago View Profile
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class C Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class C Motorhomes

> Towing with a Winnebago View Profile

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
8horsehitch

New York

View Profile

Posted: 07/31/11 09:04am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Am considering purchasing a Winnie View Profile. Want to know others experience towing a vehicle behind this unit. I have no experience with the V6 turbo diesel. Thanks for any information you can give.

kalynzoo

Los Angeles , California

View Profile

Posted: 07/31/11 11:51am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Why not. Just watch your combined gross vehicle weight.

Granbury

View Profile

Posted: 07/31/11 06:02pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

8horsehitch: I have the Sprinter diesel chassis. The chassis has a 3500 maximum tow rating. You will have to keep the toad to a light weight. I have a Smart car weighing 1808 pounds. But, I will trailer the Smart car with a 1750 pound trailer. Right at my maximum tow weight with fuel, etc. in Smart car. To much controversy on if the Smart car is towable on all four. Factory states "yes" in one e-mail and "no" in second e-mail. Plus, butchering up the grill to accomodate a tow bar, etc. hurts the trade-in value. It's an indication the car has been towed. Smart car salesman stated they would seriuosly depreciate the vehicle, if they accept it as a trade-in. Good luck and conduct research before you make a decision.

carringb

Corvallis, OR

View Profile

Posted: 07/31/11 11:28pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Towing a toad at the 3500 is very doable, but may slow you down on steeper grades. Aux brakes are a must.