Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: Would this be a dumb idea?

Posted By: WVTravco on 06/16/10 08:07pm

Just a thought (I'm a newbie so if this is a stupid idea, forgive me).

If we have a tent that is say 9x9 and an easy up canopy that is 10x10. Could we put the easy up canopy over the tent for added protection from the rain or falling limbs and more shade? This is of course as long as the tent is not too tall.

What are your thoughts on this?

Me(33), Hubby(32), Little Man(7), Princess(1), Boxer(2)
1972 Travco 270
TVs-2004 4Runner, 1986 Chevy Custom Deluxe C-10 or 2002 Ford F-350 Super Duty Diesel
2006 Bass Tracker 175
Coleman Sundome 6 tent
"More is not enough, too much is just right"

Posted By: Tom/Barb on 06/16/10 08:17pm

We carry a tent with us, it is used as the extra bedroom under the awning. we've done this with both the TT and the Class A, got the air matress and the sleeping bags too.

2000 Newmar mountain aire 4081 DP, ISC/350 Allison 6 speed, Wrangler JK toad.

Posted By: Rolling Condo on 06/16/10 08:29pm

My dad used a white tarp and poles and used a rope as a ridge line to go over the 9'X12' wall tent as a sun shade. Made a big difference in keeping the tent cooler.

'90 GMC R2500 7.4L w/ Gear Vendor OD
'90 Avion 34V
Cummins Onan P4300ie
Pro Pride 3P
Prodigy

Posted By: Fire Instructor on 06/16/10 08:30pm

It adds shade and keeps the tent cooler on a hot day, plus it provides added rain protection for bad weather. I've seen any number of campers do similar.

Fire Instructor

2014 Ram Laramie w/6.7L Cummins Diesel
2009 Rockwood 2607
300 Watts of SunTech Solar Panels
Rogue MPT-3024 Controller & Xantrex PW2000 Inverter

"If everyone is thinking alike, then someone isn't thinking!" General George S. Patton

Posted By: gbopp on 06/16/10 08:20pm

I'm not a tent camper but, I think it is a good idea. Especially if there is no or few trees for shade.
I'm sure others will have different opinions....this is just mine.